: New Brain Food :

I went to a second hand book store and found some more brain food (and I made a great deal)! The book “Mighty Ugly” inspired me to make some more research about creativity and the creative process

What books did I got and why? I really found some gems in this store and treated myself with some new books. Also I think I made a great deal on books!(Yay)

“Book of signs” by Rudolf Koch. Since I am working currently a lot on logodesigns I got curious about symbols, signs and their associations. Rudolf Koch shows a summary of symbols used from the earliest times to the middle ages and explains their association. Many forms and symbols still have the same message in our society and psychological associations. This book is very interesting and mind opening. Why do we associate a simple form like the circle with so many attributes? This book provides the answer!

“Dictionary of Symbols” by Jack Tresidder. I was looking for a long time for a dictionary of symbols. As a designer I do work with symbols on a daily basis. Having a knowledge of basic symbol principles is important in my work. I do like this book and I love to have it in my bookshelf as reference book.I do like do just discover symbols in this book and learn more about why and how something can affect our associations. 

– Julia Cameron “The Artist’s Way”. One of the classic literature about creativity and the creative process. I didn’t read through this book yet, but I will soon and give an update about it. Some reviews I already have seen claim, that this book is written in a very religious perspective. I want to make my own opinion of this book.  

“Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” by Betty Edwards. A classic book about drawing and finding your own unique creative drawing stile. I’m excited to read this one! Maybe the research about how our brain works is not up to date anymore, but I’m more interested in the main message of this book: Improve your drawing skills and finding your own unique stile. 

“Art & Fear” by David Bayles &Ted Orland. Interesting title and some great thoughts about the artist. So far I just have a little preview of the book, but I will read this one soon! Just by reading a bit through a few chapters in the store I got curious about this book. I think it will provide some great thoughts about the fundamentals of artmaking and the creative process.

“Living Artfully” by Sandra Magsamen. Well I finished this book very quick. It is well and easy written. “Living Artfully” is a very emotional book about ways how to involve creativity into our everyday life. Sandra Magsamen offers some creative ideas for different occasions.This book is not supposed for the professional creative. Sandra Magsamen’s book is supposed for everyone (and I kind of had the feeling especially for housewives). She is not reaching toward professional artists, designer or creatives.Furthermore Sandra Magsamen supports readers who are searching for more creativity in their life and want to find a new self expression through different crafts. 

 “Fearless Creating” by Ph.D. Eric Maisel. It was a good deal at the store and I just thought I will give it a try and read this book for my further researches about the creative process. This book claims to be a step by step guide to starting and completing your work of art. This book book is supposed for professional creatives of any kind (“for writers, visual artists, musicians, actors, and creators of any kind”). I’m curious about to read more about the exercises this book provides. 

Currently I am very curious  about reading more about the creative process. I have many friends who need to find their creativity again or their creative self-esteem. I already enjoy giving support, help, and book recommendations for my friends, who are currently stuck in their creative work. It inspires me and fascinates me to face the myth “creativity”. What is creativity? How are we working creative? What is the fundamental basement for creativity? 

I graduated almost 2 years ago with my “Master of Fine Arts”, since then I experienced that many people loose their track after graduation. But why? What happened to these people, who give up their creative and experimental work? What are the circumstances? How can I help to pretend this? How can I help people in their creative depressions? This will definitely be a new topic for my new researches and studies! 

Leave a Reply

